top of page

It's nearly time

2017. June 15th. Thursday.

Obviously with the way the calendar works, this was a Wednesday last year. And Thursday last year will be where we start the account of the ride. And we will share that tomorrow, June 16th.

Following that, a day at a time, we will go through the days to the day after the ride, July 3rd / 4th.

In spite of having a year to write it up, I still haven't quite finished it yet. I only have 3 1/2 days to go, but I need to get on with it!

On a different subject, the photo for today also harks back a year. Stewart and I did the Bug Hill charity ride last year and repeated this year.

It's a nice ride, well organised with good numbers and weather again this year. I thought at one stage that the cycling club may have been going to keep me company, but it didn't pan out so just the two of us. Proper supporting the ride again, Ross taking the photo was perhaps more focussed upon ensuring that the car was the star, but a bit of cropping etc. and we got the riders in as well.

We did 67 miles this year, but last year it was about the last big bit of training, so pushed the bits before and after and got it over 80. Easy peasy back then.

Also, looking at what I have ridden this year, and I haven't been slacking, I am now 1,000 miles down on what I had ridden last year, BEFORE starting the LEJOG. I really did do a few miles to train up....

Still thinking about how I could do another one next year, probably it should be a JOGLE, but a LEJOG is just going to be more pleasant on so many levels. We will see. It's the logistics. I can join an organised ride, but that almost feels like cheating as the risk is reduced it feels to me by having experts around, a broom wagon, a lot more riders and no route issues. The distance would be similar, the hills similar, the weather.... you get the picture, but it would not have that same edge. No long days just singing to myself to avoid going mad, no worries about me or the bike falling apart and so on.

We will see.

Keep an eye out for this though as well that goes on next weekend, Ross is part of the support team for a world record attempt on the JOGLE 4 man team effort. Details on the link below.

There are many exciting aspects to this. It is non-stop, having 48 hours to do 880 odd miles, Guinness book of Records person in the car with you, 4 man team taking it in turns of about 48 miles (I refuse to do kilometres), all with history awaiting them at the end.

It also does have a few elements that Ross won't like so much. No nice hotel room, shower, wine, toilet (well, I guess there will be bushes or motorway service stations), sleep, good food, wine, space, wine... But, it is only 48 hours, apart from getting there and back. Wish them all good luck, and as Ross will be an expert, maybe he will then do the JOGLE with me next year.

https://www.facebook.com/events/228703707621947/?acontext=%7B%22ref%22%3A%223%22%2C%22ref_newsfeed_story_type%22%3A%22regular%22%2C%22feed_story_type%22%3A%22263%22%2C%22is_sponsored%22%3A%221%22%2C%22ad_creator_id%22%3A%221158384017%22%2C%22action_history%22%3A%22null%22%7D

RECENT POSTS:
bottom of page